Follow us:
  • Home
  • News
  • CECC Announces Additional Nobel Peace ...
  • 03 Jun, 2024
  • Admin

CECC Announces Additional Nobel Peace Prize Nominations on 34th Anniversary of Tiananmen Massacre


On 02 June, the 34th anniversary of the Tiananmen Massacre, the Chairs of the bipartisan and bicameral Congressional-Executive Commission on China (CECC), Representative Chris Smith (R-NJ) and Senator Jeff Merkley (D-OR), issued a powerful statement. 

They formally announced their nomination for the 2023 Nobel Peace Prize of Peng Lifa, citizen-journalist Zhang Zhan, and Li Kangmeng, a prominent figure in the "White Paper Protests." Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) and Representative James P. McGovern (D-MA) joined the Chairs in endorsing the nominations, demonstrating strong bipartisan support for the cause.

Reflecting on the significance of the Tiananmen tragedy, the Chairs stressed the importance of remembrance and condemned China's attempts to suppress discussions surrounding the event, not only within mainland China but also in Hong Kong. They paid tribute to the courageous protesters of 1989 and expressed solidarity with the lives lost when Chinese tanks rolled through the streets of Beijing.

In their statement, the Chairs called on the Chinese authorities to provide a comprehensive account of all individuals who were killed, detained, or went missing as a result of the peaceful protests in Tiananmen Square and other cities across China. They emphasized the necessity of preserving the memory of the Tiananmen Massacre and preventing the Chinese Communist Party from erasing it from history.

Highlighting the distinction between the Chinese people and the ruling Communist Party, the Chairs reiterated the enduring desire for freedom among the Chinese populace, despite facing successive waves of repression and abuse. To honor the indomitable spirit of those seeking human rights and reform, the CECC nominated Peng Lifa, Zhang Zhan, and Li Kangmeng for the 2023 Nobel Peace Prize.

These individuals, like the Tiananmen protesters before them, peacefully advocated for the recognition and respect of human rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the Chinese Constitution.

However, their calls for transparency and open debate were met with censorship and imprisonment by Chinese authorities, who wielded their immense police power to stifle dissent. The Chairs urged the international community to recognize these heroes for their courage and to demand their immediate and unconditional release.

The Chairs expressed their unwavering support for all those in China who are peacefully striving for freedom. They pledged to expose the atrocities and gross human rights abuses perpetrated in China, holding Chinese officials accountable for their crimes against humanity.

As many individuals in China are unable to speak for themselves, the Chairs promised to be their voice, advocating for their defense, supporting peaceful efforts to promote human rights, and working towards the release of political prisoners from arbitrary detention. They reaffirmed the commitment of the free world to never forget the bravery and sacrifices of the Chinese people.


Edited and collated by Team TRC